Capture a pre-authorization on the Self-Care Portal

Self-Care Portal

Use the Self-Care Portal to capture a pre-authorization to complete a payment. You can do one of the following:

Capture the full pre-authorized amount

  1. Log in to https://payments.payroc.com/merchant/selfcare/.
  2. From the navigation menu, select Virtual Terminal, and then select Pre-Auth Completion.
  3. Enter one of the following details of the transaction:
    1. In the Order ID box, enter the order ID of the pre-authorization.
    2. In the Card Number box, enter the card number.
  4. Select SEARCH.
  5. Next to the pre-authorization that you want to capture, select Complete.
  6. Review the pre-authorization details and confirm the amount in the Amount box, and then select CONTINUE.

Note: If you enter an amount that is more than 15% above the original pre-authorization amount, the portal prompts you to confirm a reversal and a new sale transaction.

  1. Select COMPLETE.

Capture part of the pre-authorized amount

  1. Log in to https://payments.payroc.com/merchant/selfcare/.
  2. From the navigation menu, select Reporting, and then select Open Batch
  3. Locate the transaction that you want to capture. For more information about how to search for a transaction, go to Search for a transaction on the Self-Care Portal.
  4. From the Action column, select , and then select Partial Capture.
  5. From the Partial Capture screen, enter the amount that you want to capture in the Amount to be captured field.
  6. Select PARTIAL CAPTURE

When you capture only part of the pre-authorized amount, the portal creates another transaction with the same order ID for the remaining amount that you haven’t captured yet. You can do one of the following with the remaining amount: 

  • Capture the remaining amount later – Change the status of the transaction to Pending. When you’re ready to complete the payment, change the status back to Ready. For more information about how to change the status of a transaction, go to Change transaction status using the Self-Care Portal
  • Cancel the remaining amount – Void the transaction if you no longer want to capture the remaining amount. For more information about how to void a transaction, go to Void a transaction on the Self-Care Portal.